Grosse Pointe Rotary Club

Grosse Pointe

Service Above Self

We meet Wednesdays at 5:30 PM
Grosse Pointe Yacht Club
788 Lake Shore Road
Grosse Pointe Shores, MI  48236
United States of America
Venue Map
Meetings are in
The Venetian Room   (June - August)
The Fo'c'sle Room   (September - May)
Visiting Rotarians and Guests are Welcome!
The Grosse Pointe Rotary Tot Lot Re-Imagining
On Aug. 1, 2019, the Rotary Club of Grosse Pointe unveiled the $250,000 “re-imagining” of its nearly half-century-old Tot Lot in the City of Grosse Pointe to make it an ADA/ADHD compliant, all-inclusive play park and learning development environment for kids 2 to 10 years of age. 
In 1973, Grosse Pointe Rotary designed and installed the initial Tot Lot play park for children 2 to 5 years of age at the corner of St. Clair and Waterloo in the City of Grosse Pointe. Then, in 1997-98, the club performed a true makeover of the original park and invested significantly in park improvements.

The Tot Lot is the only dedicated ADA-compliant and all-inclusive children's play park that is open at all residents and families of the five Grosse Pointe communities and Harper Woods.

It’s time to update and bring these insights and improvements to the Rotary Tot Lot with a design makeover involving an investment of $250,000. For more information please click here.
Our Stories
Carmen Szurpicki is the Senior Manager for Individual Philanthropy for the Children’s Center.
The Center, located in Midtown Detroit, is celebrating its 90th anniversary.  Its mission is to help children and families shape their own futures with a purpose to improve the lives of children and families which, in turn, will strengthen communities.  It offers annual support to 7,500 children, many who have behavioral or educational issues in addition to having suffered severe trauma.
It offers 20 programs/services which are broken down into four categories: (1) Healthy Start – addresses autism, parent-child interactions, and pregnant moms; (2) Healing the Hurt – offers clinical, medical, and crisis care; (3) A Safe Home – provides foster care and adoption services and a young adult (16-21) self-sufficiency program; (4) Bridging the Gap – offers a boutique with clothing and household items, homework help, a center for family literacy, and an activity room for all sorts of gatherings.
The Center’s $26.5 million budget is raised through Medicaid, State money, and private donations.  To learn more, please go to
This week we had our annual visit from our District Governor.  This years District 6400 District Governor is John Chambers.
John Chambers has a been a Detroit AM Rotarian since 2004 and has participated on numerous mission trips to countries such as Nicaragua and Haiti.  These trips have had a profound impact on him and he believes that Rotarians should step outside their comfort zones.  For example, on one medical trip, he worked as an assistant to a dental hygienist. (Not his profession).
This year’s RI motto is Rotary Connects the World and the two goals of the RI President is to increase membership and involve families.  Mr. Chambers believes that our District is taking active steps to increase membership by bringing potential new members to meetings, starting a new club, and having an “E Club” (meets online).  He also believes that Rotarians should involve their families by bringing them to meetings and having them participate in service projects. 
The District Governor asked President Judy for nominees to receive a “Do The Right Thing” certificate that he would present.  Through a blind Club board vote, Mike Carmody was the deserving recipient for his work on the GP Library tool collection, the tot lot, and as Executive Secretary.
This year’s District Conference takes place from 5/15/20 to 5/17/20 at Kalahari Resort in Sandusky, OH.  To register, go to
Defer students have a "no chemicals in the ground" policy to protect the environment, and as a consequence weeds need to be 
periodically removed and the campus green/gardens tended to.  The high school Interact student volunteers are Asher Comes (standing left), Laine Johnson, and Erica McGraw (standing middle -- wearing black coats) and GPS High School teacher Kevin Cox (Interact adviser -- standing back row right). Rotarians and guests, standing left to right: Jackie Gleason, Richard O'Neill, Diane Strickler, Bob Lucas and Dick Allison.  Kneeling is George McMullen, Rotary Interact Chairman.  Interact clubs are an offshoot of Rotary Clubs and they exist to do pro bono projects that make a difference for school and community.    
Rebecca Fannon is the Community Relations Specialist for the Grosse Pointe Public School System.
The topic was the upcoming millage proposals on the November 5th ballot.  (1) Operating Millage Restoration and Extension which funds textbooks, technology tools, and other instructional materials for the students. (2) Sinking Fund Renewal which funds the construction and repairs of school buildings and facilities.  Studies have shown that the district needs to spend $10 million/year to maintain its facilities.  If these millages don’t pass the GPPSS would lose 25% of its operating budget and $3 million of the funds needed for its buildings.  Although not legally able to state so on the ballots, both proposals will only renew what everyone is already paying. 
Ms. Fannon began her talk about an area she believes is often understated – the quality of the GPPSS.  It is the #1 place to teach and its teachers are constantly at the top in best teachers polls.  The GPPSS is the #4 district in the State, #1 in Wayne County, and in the top 5% nation-wide.  There will be an open house to promote our schools from 1:00 PM to 3:00 PM this Sunday, 10/20.
Tom Halpin has been the principal in a small sales agency that has repped 40 companies over the last 15 years.  He is becoming more of a consultant and is the author of the book The Customer Prevention Culture.
This culture is based on 5 common missteps: (1) the customer is not king, (2) company-centric (not customer-centric) infrastructure, (3) tribes and silos with a lack of shared organizational outcomes, (4) too many unnecessary customer touchpoints, and (5) no values to form culture, not being proactive to inspire team members.
Mr. Halpin’s remedy is the “culture of commerce” that flips 1 – 5 around by inspiring team behavior that drives the customer experience.  This behavior is maintained through listening mechanisms to track the experience which should be all flow and no friction. 
An innovative video of the customer prevention culture can be viewed at
Last week Dave Colton, went old school and passed it on for a faux pas, to Mark Brooks for misstating in the Rotarpointe that Dave was a volunteer cook this summer at Cornerstone (University) and not Crossroads.